Five inducted into CHS Wrestling Hall of Fame

Four wrestlers that won individual state titles and the coach of Cameron’s first state championship team were inducted into the CHS Wrestling Hall of Fame during a ceremony following the Crossroads Dual Tournament Saturday.

The inductees included Doug Eckermann, who coached the Dragons to a co-championship with Marceline at the 1978 Class A state wrestling tournament.

Charles Scott was the first individual state champion in CHS history, winning the 112-pound title in 1978. He passed away in 1980 and the award was presented to his mother, Carolyn, and brother, Mike.

Tom Earley was the Dragons first undefeated state champion, going 30-0 in 1979.

Cale Griffin finished his career at CHS with a 157-1 record and three state titles. He holds the school record for most consecutive wins with 122.

Brian McClure won 149 matches during his career and won three state titles, going 42-0 in his senior year. He was a member of the Dragons 2006 Class 1 state championship team.

All of the recipients were presented a plaque.

Trending Video

My Cameron News

BB Highway
P.O. Box 498
Cameron, MO 64429
PHONE: (816) 632-6543
FAX: (816) 632-4508

Privacy Policy

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed